Internet and Creativity

Every summer I get excited about learning a new craft or digging deeper into some that I already know. I was realizing this morning  while catching up on reading in my online course on Internet and Identity, how much internet has opened up learning opportunities, and has actually helped me to become more creative. There are so many resources out there, and a lot of them are free.
 
Currently this summer I am working on learning more about painting with acrylics, trying watercolor, and word art (basically fake calligraphy, though one day I want to learn the real thing). Last summer I was working on acrylic painting and crocheting doillies. The Internet has allowed me to look up techniques, and tips in a matter of seconds. If I am reading a pattern and don’t know a stitch, or want to learn tips on blending while painting I can look up a how–to YouTube video. While practicing word art I was having hard time being creative with hand writing type so I found how-to worksheets I could print off, and have been practicing those at night when I watch TV. 
At the daycare I am using the technology to look up ideas for different crafts, and activities. While also finding coloring sheets, mazes, word finds and other indoor things to keep them busy while we have weird small amounts of time to stay busy in-between activities.
 
Anyways those are my morning thoughts and ramblings. The pictures posted are some of the different projects I have been working on the this summer. 
Another painting I did while watching a video by theartsherpa
 https://youtu.be/3RnuAafRHcA

 

This is some of the word art that I have been working on! I was even able to put it to good use and make name tags, for bag that my kids at the daycare can bring to the library on field trip days. San serif font and font used on name tags found at https://thepostmansknock.com/blog/
One Comment Add yours

  1. Krista says:

    Alyssa,
    Beautiful paintings! I also have dabbled in word art and zentangle art, thought I'm far from mastering anything. The mom of a friend of mine is an accomplished artist, and I took a journaling class from her. She just encouraged us to keep an art journal of whatever we like to do. Her point was that if drawing or painting makes you happy, then you should do it for you, and not for anyone else. This was encouraging to me and helped me realize that I shouldn't compare my creations to the creations of others. There's really no wrong way, and that's what's great about arts and crafts! I also really appreciate all of the free lessons you can find on the internet. You can learn a lot of techniques and gain inspiration from others! LOVE your blog. I look forward to reading more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

